Cover Me, I’m Going In-The Controversy Around the Hijab

thesongofthecagedbird

Choice Choice-original photograph(Kirsten Jacobs)

“I wear my hijab because it is encouraged in the Qur’an, because I don’t feel the need to sexualize or objectify my body in accordance with society…because I want to assert my female Muslim identity.”

This is how Aaliyah* responds to my question “Why do you wear a hijab?” The question becomes important in the context of the controversy surrounding the hijab seen around the world. The hijab, a large square scarf draped over the head and shoulders, is a requirement for Muslim women. The hijab protects a woman’s modesty. The hijab, and other Islamic dress articles, have become the topic of discussion in various feminist circles. Western claims that the Islamic dress code can be viewed as a manner of oppressing and controlling the bodies and sexualities of Muslim women have largely dominated the discourse. But what do Muslim women think?

The hijab has become a…

View original post 646 more words

Tell us what you think

