Review of Nice Girls Still Don’t Get the Corner Office by Lois P. Frankel

This book outlines 133 mistakes that “nice girls” make when they get to the business world. While the book is primarily directed at women, I can think of a few men who would benefit from the advice it has as well. Because I knew I’d review this for the blog, I read straight through the whole thing, as opposed to the advice given in the beginning.

If you decide to pick it up, I’d follow the author’s advice and do the test at the beginning to find out which category of mistakes you most fall into.  What I found most interesting was the way the author ties our childhood socializations to these mistakes. She makes it clear that she doesn’t believe that women should act like men at work, but we should certainly not be the nice little girls that we were socialized to be when we were actual little girls. She makes the point that while these tactics work at the beginning of a career, they won’t bring us into management.

Reading this came with the realization that I am not a nice girl, which was a little comforting. It also came with a way to articulate these mistakes and their impacts for women that I mentor. I’m far from perfect, but I had been taught to not make many of these mistakes over the last fifteen years and there are a few that I’m still susceptible to. I wish I’d had this book when I was 25 and could have learned not to make these mistakes back then. I plan to pass it on to women to other women I know, particularly those who either still make these mistakes or are young enough not have made them yet.


Join me again for more on gender issues! You can follow me here, @createparityGoogle+ or like me on Facebook! Each medium contains this site’s content but some of the articles that get shared will vary

One thought on “Review of Nice Girls Still Don’t Get the Corner Office by Lois P. Frankel

Tell us what you think

