Have you ever heard of PostSecret?

I have been seriously enjoying my weekly visits  to the bookstore. This week I found PostSecret,  the link goes to the blog and not the books. The book that I bought was PostSecret: Confessions on Life, Death, and God. It’s incredible.

A part of me wants to let myself wonder what the gender and orientation is for some of the contributors. If I find myself thinking about it, I’ll make up a scenario for all the genders I can think of. It makes for an interesting exercise in internal bias. Try it out and maybe share what you learned from it! 


By the way, I’ve been looking for a good book concerning men and work. I’ve looked at a few options but am not really happy with any. There are scores of books on women and work, but not a lot on men. Most of the books on men that looked like it was about work, ended up being about work they can do for gender equality or relating to home life. Home life is important, but something I plan on covering in March.
Are there any good recommendations out there?

I’ve already dismissed: Work with Me: The 8 Blind Spots Between Men and Women in Business and The Dignity of Working Men: Morality and the Boundaries of Race, Class, and Immigration. One is too old, and the other is co-authored with John Gray, who I just can’t.

And I’ve also decided to stop the Monthly Spotlights. I’ve already been inconsistent with them, and this month was not about to turn out any better. Sorry about the disruption.


Join me again for more on gender issues! You can follow me here, @createparityGoogle+ or like me on Facebook! Each medium contains this site’s content but some of the articles that get shared will vary

Tell us what you think

