I’d rather be included in the regular history class than have Women’s History, would you?

image

It’s been refreshing and wonderful to get to the bookstore so much lately. I worked at a Barnes and Noble when I was a teenager, many many years ago, and they just feel like home to me. It has been helping with my homesickness in this latest trip away.

A benefit to getting to spend all this time in bookstores is getting to peruse the bookshelves and peak at books beyond the first ten pages. I love getting a sample on an e-reader, but it’s never the part of the story or book that I want to sample. It’s only the first few pages, which doesn’t give me much. I’d rather it be timed but I can look at any page, that would be more fun. Let me not get off track though. As I was perusing the bookshelves, I came upon a book called That’s Not In My American History Book and it had some great tidbits on women that were left out of the history books and some of whose accomplishments were attributed to men. For example, it states that Paul Revere’s Ride, which has been disputed for a long time now, actually accounts the ride of young girl, Sybil Ludington.

While I don’t intend on adding this book to my list of books to read, I did want to share it’s existence in case anyone was interested in this sort of history. It has been proven for a while that women have been contributing to history and left out of the books, as well as other marginalized groups. I hope that one day in the not too distant future we may begin to see what is currently called “Women’s Studies” incorporated into our history books and made obsolete, along with the history from those other groups. Wouldn’t it be great if our regular old history classes included the accomplishments of all people without having to take extra classes to learn about other groups? If we’ve been talking about it for at least as long as I could remember, you’d think someone would have made an all-inclusive history book. I’m sure that we’re still a long way away from it, but it’s good to dream and hope.


Five quick updates, since it’s Monday

I changed the theme for the blog, I hope you like it! I really like this one.

I joined Goodreads a little bit ago, but just now got it sorted the way I want it. I’m sure you have noticed it on the sidebar.

I also got a new app to help me out with my graphics. I hate to veer from what’s seemed to be working for me since September, but I can’t manage to get the background I’d been using with the computer since I only have my tablet on this trip. The new app seems fun, so you may end up seeing some stuff that seems a little out of character for me.

And this new app is giving me thoughts of branching out into Instagram. We’ll see what happens.

Oh,and I started a new pinboard! This one is dedicated specifically to feminist posts and speeches that talk about feminism as equality without misandrist speech. This is always the first thing that gets asked when I’m talking to someone who thinks feminists want superiority. They seem to be unable to find a good amount of feminist writers who just want things to be equal. Of course, they also seem to never realize that women are not privileged over men (intersectionally some men, but that’s a whole other post)

Anyway, I’m collecting thoughts on feminism and gender equality. It’s going to take a while to build a good base, but I think it’s a good place to start to show that its true. Here’s the link: http://www.pinterest.com/calavari44/feminists-who-want-equality-not-superiority/


Join me again for more on gender issues! You can follow me here, @createparityGoogle+ or like me on Facebook! Each medium contains this site’s content but some of the articles that get shared will vary

One thought on “I’d rather be included in the regular history class than have Women’s History, would you?

  1. I took a Women’s History class at NYU and I have to say it was really lame. Everyone who took the class expected to get an A. I’m a woman who would much prefer to see women (not just the ones who do things that we admire in men) be a complementary part of history classes. The behind the scenes things women did fascinate me. The only thing is that we don’t admire the traditional role that most women played and embraced.

Tell us what you think

