So I started State of Affairs

I started watching the series State of Affairs recently. I had seen it recommended somewhere that I can’t remember anymore, so I thought I’d give it a shot. I always did like Katherine Heigl. I wasn’t really sure what to expect, but I can definitely say that I wasn’t disappointed. Heigl plays an analyst who gives the President of the United States her daily brief on current affairs every morning. And just so you don’t think I got my pronouns mixed up, I’ll just lay it out there that the President is a woman in this series. She’s not just a woman but a woman of color and played by an amazing actress, Alfre Woodard. I never knew her name before but I’ve loved her performances going all the way back to Heart and Souls in 1993 but it’s mostly when she calls Captain Picard Ahab in Star Trek: First Contact that I remember her. There was such fire in her eyes when she did it, calling him out on his hate. Here it is:

The part of me that loves this scene has especially high hopes for State of Affairs.

I have mixed feelings from episode to episode, though. Sometimes it feels like the writers are placating to the idea that women are emotional and need some sort of romantic or maternal connection to other characters to care about them. Other times, I feel like it hit the mark on the idea that women are every bit as capable of Band of Brother’s like feelings for their coworkers without romance, or feeling like their mothers. It seems to be getting better every episode and the plot is definitely going in a very interesting direction. The First Gentlemen, if you will, is also incredible and interesting. His struggle is interesting to watch because he’s not emasculated by his wife’s position and yet he’s acutely aware of his limitations as her husband. It’s hard to explain without spoiling the show, but Courtney B. Vance does a great job of playing a man who needs answers and realizes that his wife will always have more of them than he will.

If you watch State of Affairs, tell me what you think. I’m all caught up and looking forward to seeing what others think about this show and the way the characters relate to each other!


Join me again for more on gender issues! You can follow me here, @createparityGoogle+ or like me on Facebook! Each medium contains this site’s content but some of the articles that get shared will vary

2 thoughts on “So I started State of Affairs

  1. I started it – and have since abandoned it after five episodes… I even wrote about it. But I didn’t trash it.
    I am not not trying to dissuade your opinion or offer up a dissenting opinion,

    But I just didn’t really connect with it.

    • Yeah, I didn’t fall right in love. The original draft of that post had more doubts but the episode right before it was published actually converted me over fully. I didn’t like thd thing about Aaron, her fiance. It seemed like they were trying too hard to make connections. But when she remembers the rest of the night when he was shot, it took the plot in an interesting direction that I wasnt expecting.

Tell us what you think

