I finally watched Transparent and it was AMAZING

I had Transparent on my watchlist for a while now, but after the amazing win at the Golden Globes this weekend, it was time to take it off the watchlist and put it on the television. I figured out that I actually can’t do that at all on either my tablet or the tv in my room so I had to watch it on my phone. Thank goodness for my little LG3 being compatible with Instant Video!

And WOW.

I had known I needed to watch it because it was recommended to me and because it’s pertinent to the content of this blog. I’m also glad that I waited until now. I wouldn’t have understood any of the Jewish parts without having read Unorthodox first and I don’t think I would have been totally ready for what appears to be the reality of coming out without having contemplated ways to take actions this month. It’s a brave and incredible thing to come out as yourself, particularly after a lifetime of hiding. Jeffrey Tambor is incredible, I’m happy they honored such a performance this weekend as well.

I believe this is a show that you have to be totally mentally prepared for before you start because it’s not just about a parent coming out as trans, it’s about the all secrets we keep.

Every family has secrets. No family is perfect. We all have that stuff that makes us our family and that no one else really understands. It makes us not able to stand being around each other and it makes us permanently bound at the same time. When these secrets start to unravel, we find ourselves at a point relative to where this story begins. Someone can’t keep the secret anymore, but it’s been in there and hiding and festering for so long that no one else really knows what to do when it’s out. But when it comes out, it brings so much more with it. Here’s a look at the family which makes up the central characters:

There are a lot of things I love about this show, so here are some others:

  • the flashbacks which showcase all the hiding of the past that each character has their own messed up stuff to deal with while dealing with their dad coming out
  • each character has their own way of handling the dad coming out, including people external to the central characters
  • each of the central characters has a journey between the news and what the news means to their history with their dad
  • no one just perfectly knows how to handle everything and dad is shown correcting people’s pronouns and such

I feel like it’s good to have a show of this nature and relative content and that it has gotten positive recognition and notoriety. This has been an issue that simmers at the surface of our culture right now and it’s time to let the lid off. I’ve seen in another book that it is hypothesized that as we get further into the digital age, we will be able to disconnect our ideas of self from our anatomy and that the gender binary and the social constructs that go with it will be a thing of the past. Maybe so, maybe not. Either way, it is a fascinating idea to think about for now. (Transgender History, pg 30)


Join me again for more on gender issues! You can follow me here, @createparityGoogle+ or like me on Facebook! Each medium contains this site’s content but some of the articles that get shared will vary.

Tell us what you think

