Review of the Secret History of Wonder Woman by Jill Lepore

Though not what I had expected, I did enjoy this book. I was never a big Wonder Woman fan but I also had no idea that her background was so interesting. To me, she was a female knock-off of Superman and Lois Lane was actually more interesting. I think it was that a new Superman show had come out when I was a kid and Wonder Woman was a thing of the past. I didn’t read comics, all my nerddom came from tv, so that explanation fits. But she has gotten my attention now and I do plan on reading a bit more of her stories to see if she is getting justice. I follow another blogger who writes almost exclusively about her.

Getting back to her secret history, though, I found it quite interesting. I enjoyed the way the author gave a complete history of the creator and those who influenced him from college professors to love interests, you get a glimpse into it all of the little things that have made Wonder Woman who she is. The author even includes her evolution throughout the years after her creator past on and how it mirrored what was happening to women in the U.S.. This was an interesting book in many ways, and I particularly enjoyed the way it included the evolution of feminism throughout the years and the great influences Suffragists had on the persona and battles of Wonder Woman in the intial years. It also included that the Wonder Woman comics once contained a section call the Wonder Women of History, which I found quite interesting. These inserts are memorialized here and are incredibly interesting. They stopped running after 54 issues but I find it fun to think about just who might have been added since then.
This book is for anyone interested in feminism and/or Wonder Woman and comics. I found it quite enlightening.

Join me again for more on gender issues! You can follow me here,@createparity, Google+ or like me on Facebook! Each medium contains this site’s content but some of the articles that get shared will vary.

2 thoughts on “Review of the Secret History of Wonder Woman by Jill Lepore

  1. excellent points altogether, you just gained a new reader.
    What would you recommend about your submit that you just made some days ago?
    Any positive?

Tell us what you think

