Things that close

I was thinking about the saying “as one door closes, another one opens” and it occurred to me that not all things that close are doors. I would rather consider this year as book volume that is closing. It has been put into it’s final form and left out, perhaps in a row of other such volumes, to be perused and read again from time to time.
It’s just out there now, waiting for the next reader, hoping to connect with someone again.

Reflecting back on the year this month, I’ve recounted the many changes I’ve made to bring it to it’s current form. Perhaps more changes will come, perhaps not. Either way, such reflection is important. It is important to sit back and look at what we’ve done, what we’ve accomplished, what we were aiming for and whether or not we accomplished that. Did we meet or surpass expectations? Did we sideline one option for another? Was it the right choice?

Some don’t appreciate times of reflection, but I’ve always considered them important. They let me make a more informed decision as to what to do next, which leads to the last question in that line: Are you ready to start back up that hill?


Join me again for more on gender issues! You can follow me here, @createparityGoogle+ or like me on Facebook! Each medium contains this site’s content but some of the articles that get shared will vary.

Tell us what you think

