Review of Yes Please by Amy Poehler

I’ll be honest, I wasn’t sure what to expect when I read this. It didn’t look like a memoir or autobiography, but it didn’t really look like anything else either. It ended up being far more than I expected it to be. It reads similarly to King’s On Writing: A Memoir Of The Craft, though it isn’t really a memoir.

Poehler’s covers everything a reader might hope for, but in a way that feels more like a woman reflecting on her life than writing about how it happened. For this, I am grateful. She had some amazing insight of which I will take with me on the road for this blog, as well as life in general. She’s funny and honest about the road to becoming a celebrity and some of things that are involved with that. She does cover her time on Saturday Night Live and the Upright Citizens Brigade but it is far from the focus of this book. The focus is life and the living of it. I greatly enjoyed it.

Some of highlights that I found in the book are:

  • Decide what your currency is early. Let go of what you will never have. People who do this are happier and sexier. (32)
  • Being foolish was the smartest thing to do. (88)
  • The biggest lie and biggest crime is that we all do this alone and look down on people who don’t. (111)
  • And you don’t always have to win to get the pudding. (122)
  • Practice ambivalence. Learn to let go of wanting it. Treat your career like a bad boyfriend. (157)
  • Because remember, the talking about the thing isn’t the thing. The doing of the thing is the thing. (177)

While the book also has the kind of fun celebrity stuff that one expects of the memoir of a celebrity, there is so much more to Poehler than that. She spends this time sharing her wisdom, well beyond her life story. And she convinced me that time travel is real and that we do it all the time.


Join me again for more on gender issues! You can follow me here, @createparityGoogle+ or like me on Facebook! Each medium contains this site’s content but some of the articles that get shared will vary.

Tell us what you think

