Writing in this theme and a small request

Everytime I get to a new month, it feels a little like I’m writing a totally different blog. That’s part of what has been fun for me to write this. I get to change it up so much. This month is based on religion, as was covered by my introductory post. I have already read three books based on religion and gender and am sharing the reviews again just in case you missed them the first time:

I am also taking suggestions for further reading on religion and gender for this month!


I am attempting to stay truer to the monthly theme from now on, so I’ll be sticking to it on Media Wednesdays as well. Wish me luck!


I find it surprisingly difficult to stay on task this month and not talk about just religion. Including the gender side of it, which is the actual focus of the blog isn’t difficult as much as it is easy to get side tracked from. I didn’t expect that. I didn’t expect to feel like I have so much to say to clear the air about religion before wanting to talk about the gender side of it. I feel like it’s so misunderstood. There are so many people who distort it by just going through the motions or justifying bad behavior or saying one thing and doing another. I know so many people that get turned off by the whole thing without getting the groundwork teaching in there.

Don’t get me wrong, this was a central reason we didn’t go to church when we were kids. My parents had moved and kept running into places that made one or the other of them feel uncomfortable or weren’t teaching anything. I’ve seen preachers stand at the pulpit and not really teach anything. There are so many places that simply placate to people to get them to stay instead of talking about the hard stuff. It’s not supposed to be a place where you go to feel good, it’s a place of action! Churches should be doing things to improve their communities, but more often I find churches doing things to improve themselves. It’s frustrating when there are so many people that never get to see that side of the church or any religion. It makes it really hard to stay on task and discuss just the gender and egalitarian side of it.

Maybe I’ll get a better outlet for these feelings one day……


I saw this program on the Women of the Wall and found it interesting. They’ve written a book which is now my next book to read on religion and gender issues.


I am on Google+ and am trying to have a more equitable news feed on it and see more than just women’s issues, but I can’t find a good men’s group to follow that doesn’t just spit hate for women all over the place (except the Good Men Project which I already follow in several ways). Does anyone have any suggestions?

(I’m also working on a good non-binary representation, but I run into an entirely different problem.


Join me again for more on gender issues! You can follow me here, @createparityGoogle+ or like me on Facebook! Each medium contains this site’s content but some of the articles that get shared will vary.

2 thoughts on “Writing in this theme and a small request

  1. I recommend Unorthodox, a memoir by Deborah Feldman. She was raised Hasidic, married at a young age, had a son, and then went secular. It is a very good book with some unusual twists and turns in it.

    Tangentially related (read the book to find out why) you should also watch Trembling Before G-d by Sandi Simcha DuBowski.

Tell us what you think

