Who was your role model?

Have you ever thought about that term and exactly what it means? The person that models the role you want to play. Were they your gender, race, sexual orientation? What parts of your role in life or work did you learn from them?

So many conversations about people on tv and in movies revolve around children taking characters as role models.

Who was your tv or movie role model?

As mentioned before, my main media role model was Scarlett O’Hara. Sure, she was vapid and selfish in the very beginning, but her character has measurable growth throughout the movie. She learns to think of others and to love. She goes through unimaginable loss and takes care of everyone around her. She stresses out and gets it back together. She was my role model because I knew that I was and still remain bad at keeping it together. I realized with her character that keeping it together may be great, but one can always recover when we can’t keep it together. So, things I learned from Scarlett:

  1. Hard work may not be lady-like, but it puts food on the table.
  2. Perseverance is one of the most important qualities for success
  3. Friends are much more complex than you think, don’t take them for granted (she does this a lot but I learns in the end)
  4. Sometimes, thinking of the problems doesn’t actually help. Think about it tomorrow, if you can.
  5. Don’t be too big to just say what you want (she does good at this with Ashley but fails miserably with Rhett when she’s hurt)
  6. Just because you want to be a kind and compassionate person, doesn’t mean that you have it in you.
  7. Not all women are nurturers and that can be a good thing too.

But I learned some other things from others too:
I learned to seek out the life you want from Ariel.
I learned that yearning for adventure is something girl’s can do from Jasmine.
I learned that life is full of unexpected promise from Bridget. (Bridget Jones Diary)
I learned from Star Trek that women can be part of exploration, battle, and courage.
I learned from Eliza that you don’t always love the one that is easy to love. (My Fair Lady)

 

Hermione is a great answer I’ve seen recently in this article: What’s right about Hermione


Join me again for more on gender issues! You can follow me here, @createparityGoogle+ or like me on Facebook! Each medium contains this site’s content but some of the articles that get shared will vary.

4 thoughts on “Who was your role model?

  1. I didn’t consider gender at the time, but looking back, I had a lot of male role models. I loved Goku from Dragon Ball Zealand and Kenshin Himura from Rurouni Kenshin. They were strong warriors and fighters, but always hesitated to kill the worst of enemies. No matter how evil, they never lost sight of the humanity behind their worst enimies.

    I also loved Garnet, Yuna and Terra from the Final Fantasy series. They were all strong feminine fighters. I connected to Garnet in particular.

    I never really looked at a real human being the way I did those characters (is that weird? ) but Shania Twain comes close. I adored her and admired how she sang and wrote most of her own material. She’s a true artist and knows what it feels like to struggle for dreams.

    • I know what you mean. I watched so Manu movies with my family and read a lot, so most of my role models were characters too. There have been more characters the I’ve learned from since then but it was surprisingly difficult to remember just the ones from childhood and adolescence.

Tell us what you think

