Chain blogs, feminism, masculism, women of science, and a new book!

First, I’d like to apologize for the post that came out a little over a week ago titled “Mulan” with a video and no content. That was supposed to turn into a Wednesday post and just save as a draft for later edits. I had some technical difficulties.


 

In response to janitorqueer‘s nomination for the Lovely/Inspiring Blog Award:

Thank you for including me! I am not well versed just yet in gender variance and non-conformity but I am learning and excited to be connecting to a few more writers who deal with these issues more.

Some facts about me:

  • I wanted to be a writer as a child but had stopped writing when I graduated high school. This blog has greatly helped me get back into it.
  • I have mentioned my son before, but I haven’t yet shared that he is my epic nerd baby. At 3 years old, he knew all the Avengers by superhero name and real name and most of the Justice League. It’s a strange thing to be proud of, but we totally love it.
  • I have two bulldogs that I love very much. A boy and a girl and they are the cutest little dogs ever, I don’t care what anyone else says.
  • As a teen, I learned to enjoy breaking the gender mold. This wasn’t because I enjoyed surprising or pissing people off, though. I found it fun because my dad enjoyed it so much and I was a Daddy’s girl (and still am). I probably never would have thought of it if he hadn’t always encouraged me to go out there and show those boys I could do anything they could do. He used to include “backwards and in high heels” sometimes because he had actually been quite the musical fan.
  • My families favorite passtime is watching movies together. We have seen a lot of movies. But none of us are huge music fans nor do we tend to know that many artists at a time. That’s the main reason why my entertainment or media days don’t include music.
  • I am a HUGE Catwoman fan. I have the old comics around here somewhere. She is the only one I’ve really adored. No one else even compares.
     

    I don’t interact with a lot of bloggers enough to feel comfortable nominating anyone else. I will, however, include some links to some other blogs that I have particularly enjoyed:

    Sass & spice

    Tarnished Sophia

    ChapterTK

     


     

    It is very easy to get all ranty over this issue, but I’m going to try not to. I just see a lot of static out there about how feminism is just a superficial movement because those in developed countries don’t focus all their energy on those in under-developed countries.

    To me, this is ridiculous. Just because we are closer to equality than those in under-developed countries, doesn’t mean that we are actually “close”. That we work on our own issues, does not make it an entirely superficial movement. There are people in these under-developed countries working on the issues that are most pressing to them as well. Some people there are from developed countries and some of them are their own people. The point is that we can’t exactly burst in and rip burkas off of women’s heads and call it sexual revolution! What is important to women in different countries is going to be different. Their movements will work differently. The best way to be their allies is to continue to make our own progress and to contribute to their movements. We shouldn’t go into this by assuming that we know what they want or need. Feminism is active and alive in most countries, and it does different things. Why is this a problem for people?


     

    Have you ever searched #masculism?

    There was a brief and beautiful moment when it had things that were part of men and their desires to be treated equally and not be sidelined. The last few times a ran the search, it was pretty sad. Masculism is the male equivalent of feminism and it really doesn’t look good right now. Of course, feminism doesn’t always look good or like its moving in the right direction, but it always looks like its moving. Masculism looks like its just dying away.

    I know I have a few masculists and MRAs that see my posts. Why isn’t this hashtag used on posts that describe men’s equality issues? Is there a hash tag that you prefer?


     

    I came across the collection of Women in Science shirts and fell in love! As a tech, I want the Grace Hopper one the most! While I didn’t know all the other women in the collection, they were quickly googled. Here is the list and my favorite quote from each:

    Grace Hopper: I had a running compiler and nobody would touch it. … they carefully told me, computers could only do arithmetic; they could not do programs.

    Jane Goodall: Especially now when views are becoming more polarized, we must work to understand each other across political, religious and national boundaries.

    Marie Curie: Life is not easy for any of us. But what of that? We must have perseverance and above all confidence in ourselves. We must believe that we are gifted for something, and that this thing, at whatever cost, must be attained.

    Rosalind Franklin: Science and everyday life cannot and should not be separated.

    Rachel Carson: The real wealth of the Nation lies in the resources of the earth — soil, water, forests, minerals, and wildlife. To utilize them for present needs while insuring their preservation for future generations requires a delicately balanced and continuing program, based on the most extensive research. Their administration is not properly, and cannot be, a matter of politics.

    Sally Ride: The view of Earth is spectacular. The shuttle is pretty close to Earth. It only flies between 200 and 350 miles above Earth. So it’s really pretty close. So we don’t see the whole planet, like the astronauts who went to the moon did. So we can see much more detail. We can see cities during the day and at night, and we can watch rivers dump sediment into the ocean, and see hurricanes form. It’s just a lot of fun and very interesting to look out the window.


     

    So I took my brain break this week after finishing Fragments of Gender and waited until Saturday to start Unspeakable Things. I just wanted to share this amazing quote from it.

    Gender is a straitjacket for the human soul

    This is so true for every gender, I think. People are trained to stuff themselves into these little boxes right from the start. It reminded me of this song too.

2 thoughts on “Chain blogs, feminism, masculism, women of science, and a new book!

  1. I’ve heard the criticism that feminism is flawed because it doesn’t focus exclusively on the worst or the worst in the world. No matter how far the Western world has come, it’s important we understand that we are not perfect yet.

    As you say, what’s important in countries may differ. For example, I doubt many women would appreciate having burkas ripped off any more than forced on. Above all else, feminism is about choice. It’s not about what a man or woman does, but that they have the choice to do as they see fit without shame.

Tell us what you think

