Things that entertain me

In light of all the media coverage it gets and my newfound passion for gender issues, I thought I might try out a Wednesday night posting of things that entertain me. More specifically, things that are in entertainment that make me think about gender relations.

I thought of this while watching Joss Whedon’s recent rendition of “Much Ado About Nothing,” a story that started out as a Shakespearean play. I had never really thought about how much I love the plotline about Beatrice and Benedick. They have always been my favorite. It makes me wonder just how uncommon it was or is that a man may have liked to marry a woman who can keep up with his wit and never so much submit to him as much as concede to work toward agreement.
I hope that makes sense.
Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen is good for this sort of thing too. I wonder how much of these stories is revised or subtlety changed for modern audiences to like a little better. Elizabeth is so defiant though, and yet Darcy loves her for it. I wonder just how much it was really hated for women to be a touch defiant or witty. I wonder if the men were just pressured to show they didn’t like it by other men.

Either way, they remain entertaining stories that are often retold by media.

Tell us what you think

