A Simple Question

This one is for my own knowledge, I apologize in advance if anyone finds it offensive.

I am doing research on the “War on Women” and I don’t understand a lot about views on abortion. Everyone has their own opinion and they are entitled to it, I just want to understand them. There seems to be a lot of controversy over when the abortion happens, so here is my question:

Why would anyone who wants an abortion wait until after 20 weeks to do it? So, what is the “big deal” with mandating that abortion takes place before this?

In answering this question, I ask that you not be disrespectful of other people and that you attempt understanding of other views. Long answers or article type answers are unnecessary. I am looking for how each respondent, as single individual, feels about it.

4 thoughts on “A Simple Question

  1. An abortion 20 weeks into a pregnancy is generally less common than one say in the first trimester and is a decision that has been thought through thoroughly. There could be significant problems with the foetus or a strong risk to the mother’s life if the pregnancy is to continue that are late to be picked up. Domestic violence can also be a factor. Having never been in this sort of situation I would feel very uncomfortable in changing the policy from 24 to 20 weeks.

  2. I agree with leannepenning above. From what I understand, most abortions occur in the first trimester. Most of those which are considered “late term” abortions (after 24 weeks of pregnancy) are typically due to a risk to the mother’s life or to the life the fetus.

    I know you said you don’t want any article type responses, but I wanted to share the following article with you. It is incredibly powerful and offers one woman’s own experience with late term abortion. I hope it helps!

    http://www.slate.com/articles/double_x/doublex/2014/02/abortion_as_end_of_life_care_why_i_chose_a_peaceful_life_and_death_for_my.single.html

    -C

Tell us what you think

