A Review of Jesus Feminist: An Invitation to Revisit the Bible’s View of Women by Sara Bessey

I know I had said that I was reading The Top Five Regrets of the Dying: A Life Transformed by the Dearly Departing, but I got into it with someone and had needed to start this early to back up an argument. This was before I added that I will not instigate fights with fanatics anymore to My Promise to You. It’s funny that I started it to back up an argument and the first thing that it talks about is not arguing. The reader is encouraged to not argue, but only act, only accept others. It’s an interesting perspective. 

The book begins with the request to not argue or fight over who is more right or more wrong. Just accept that we all have differing views on our personal doctrines and different interpretations as we read through the Bible. I’ll be honest with you, I’ve never been a big Bible reader. It’s something I must rectify as my husband plans on becoming a pastor. I should at least understand his job and all the little nuances much better than I do now. As the book progresses, it covers all the reasons that get slung around about why women should not lead or preach. Then she presents her contradictory evidence. Personally, I’m with her. Even if I weren’t with her, I found that every time I mentioned her evidence for claiming that Jesus was a feminist to my husband, he had the same response. “Welcome to Methodism.”

Basically, it all boils down to that the Holy Spirit moves in you the way that it chooses to. If you have been moved to ministry, the Holy Spirit and therefore Jesus and therefore God, does not care what your parts consist of. The patriarchal habits that persist in many churches still and the patriarchal attitudes about leadership in many churches even today deny women their calling. She also points out all the women in the Bible and the preaching, prophesying and leading they were doing within the church of their time. I was particularly fond of both her comments on our tendency to take Scripture as “a collection of 140-character tweets” (pg 56) and how we move mountains. Sometimes we move mountains one  stone at a time. I love this concept.

After reading this, I pray that God help the Women’s Ministry of the church that I end up in charge of one day. They will need their strength.

I hope you enjoy it as much as I did.

Tell us what you think

