A pastor or a pastor’s wife?

I wanted to give a little notice to this. Due to a persisting tradition that is based on a first century culture, women are still largely discouraged from become ministers or pastors in their own right. I appreciate this blog addressing such problems in the personal way that it does.

scratchpaperthoughts

I used to half-jokingly say that I wanted to go to seminary to get an “MRS degree”.  That was because, beginning at the age of 18, I felt a strong certain conviction that the Lord wanted me to dedicate my life to serving him.  I had seen him use my shepherding gifts to encourage others along their spiritual journey, but the church culture around me told me that women didn’t become pastors.  But they could become pastor’s wives.   Sadly, that seemed like the only option I had to utilize my giftings.  I felt called into ministry but barred from being a minister.

Looking back, I wish I could tell my younger self that I didn’t have to feel like I had to put a cap on my gifts and stand behind a man.  Because the sad reality for me at that time was that I knew I couldn’t sign up…

View original post 493 more words

Tell us what you think

