Re: How a Feminist Dresses

I appreciate this post. Many people dress the way they are told they should for whatever reason. Others are offended by the attention that they know they will get. You can’t prevent bad people, nor should anyone cater to them.
I do find it strange that when we talk about this as women, we tend to discount that we do it to men too. For them its not often nudity that is a criticized but there are criticisms.
I applaud the decision to not to care. There’s no standard for modesty, so there’s no telling what will happen even when you try to please other people.

Regarding Life

I was wearing my relatively see through navy blue poke dot dress, that I would normally wear with a tank underneath, but on this day was wearing without a tank. With an oversized open blouse on top. A bit risqué for me. It wasn’t meant to draw attention, but as my roommate pointed out, clearly made a statement and would bring a certain form of attention from a certain type of person.

And I hadn’t gotten dressed that morning thinking “I’m going to be provocative and indecent.” But her comment got me thinking how I defined decency. And why we dress the way we dress. And whether this ensemble immediately asked for that type of attention. Did it look like I was just giving it away for free? And where do we draw the line between confidence in ourselves, and showing off the goods?

I observed to my roommate that…

View original post 267 more words

Tell us what you think

